The Park Review, and living with mental disorders.

My review for The Park is up on Xbox Culture right now. The Park is a horror game about a mother looking for her lost son in an abandoned amusement park. It also touches on mental disorders like Depression, Anxiety, Postpartum Depression, and Multiple Personality Disorder.

If you guys didn’t know I actually have a lot of experience with living with mental disorders. I have Depression myself, Robby has Depression and memory loss, and my Mother has Depression, Anxiety, and Multiple Personality Disorder. My Mom’s Multiple Personalities didn’t happen until I was 14, it was on Christmas, it may have happened sooner but this was the first time I remember actually experiencing it. She attempted suicide twice and I caught her both times, after each one she acted like a child. She was scared and she didn’t recognize me, it was scary and I didn’t know what was going. I’ve never experienced something like that before so I told my Grandparents and she got put into a mental hospital.

When you’re a kid and your parent does something like this you can’t help but feel like it’s your fault. Like maybe I had made her stressed and drove to this. But it wasn’t though, if anything I actually saved her. If I didn’t tell someone she would have never gotten the treatment she needed. Anyway my boyfriend has similar problems, when he has a seizure he forgets a lot of stuff like who I am and where he is.

Enough about sad stuff though, check out my review for The Park on Xbox Culture.

Leave a comment